Cannery Row and Understood Betsy.

I have finally finished some books for 2012! I have others in progress, and many that I’ve started and given up. I don’t know what my problem is this year!

Book #1 isCannery Row, by John Steinbeck. It is really a series of stories about a community of people whose lives intertwine. These are people who who struggle with loneliness, vices, and poverty but who are never in despair. The situations and characters are humorous and very, very human. In spite of the poverty and issues such as alcoholism and prostitution, this book is not nearly as bleak as some of Steinbeck’s other works.

Book #2 is Understood Betsy by Dorothy Canfield Fisher. I read this to my daughter, who is the same age as Betsy was in the story. Betsy is a wonderful role model, who at the beginning of the story is unsure of herself and is never allowed to do anything by her nervous aunts but by the end has figured out that she can do more than she ever dreamed. Betsy is strong, resourceful, courageous and kind. A wonderful read-aloud for a 9- or 10-year-old girl.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Cannery Row and Understood Betsy.

  1. barefootbetsy

    I got my nickname from the book “Understood Betsy” and it’s still one of my favorite books! I can’t wait until my girls are old enough to appreciate it 🙂

Leave a Reply

