Top 10 books on my 2012 TBR list.

I stumbled across a nice blog today called The Broke and the Bookish that has a wonderful feature called Top Ten Tuesdays. I love lists. It is supposed to be for college students, and by that I assume they mean 20-something traditional college students. Since I am indeed a college student with an emphasis in literature, I hope they don’t mind my playing along in spite of being twice as old as most of them are.

So this week’s top ten is a good one — the top ten books I want to read in 2012. Here we go.

1. My goal for 2011 was to read all of Jane Austen’s novels. My goal for 2012 is Dickens. I know he wrote a lot more, but I’m limiting the goal to his major works. If I happen to read others, that’s fine. Since he would easily take up my entire list, I’ll just put Dickens here, but certainly Great Expectations, Bleak House, David Copperfield, Oliver Twist, and Hard Times are TBR for 2012.
2. One Hundred Years of Solitude. I just got this from Paperback Swap. Since I don’t think I’ll get it read for this year’s challenge, I’ll start the new year off with it.
3. A Tree Grows In Brooklyn. I’ve never read it, and I’m ashamed of that fact.
4. Anna Karenina. See above.
5. The Other Boleyn Girl. This has always looked interesting to me.
6. Walden. I’ve had it on my shelf for ages, but I’m a little bit intimidated.
7. Gulliver’s Travels. See above.
8. Adam Beade. I started this several years ago when my mom got it for me for Christmas, but I got caught up in Harry Potter and never finished it. It’s high time I did. I was really enjoying it.
9. A Child’s History of England. This is Dickens, but I’m not reading it because it’s Dickens. I’m reading it because a) I want to read a good overview of the history of England, b) my mom’s cousin set it aside ‘specially for me, and c) it has a beautiful binding.
10.The Bible. I read through the Bible every year, following the One Year Bible Blog. Every year I read maybe half. Every year I hope to do better. Maybe this will be my year.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Top 10 books on my 2012 TBR list.

  1. Jillian ♣

    We share a few titles!! I’m also reading the Bible, Anna Karenina, and Walden. I love that you’re tackling Dickens in 2012. 🙂

  2. We share a few titles!! I’m also reading the Bible, Anna Karenina, and Walden. I love that you’re tackling Dickens in 2012.
    +1

Leave a Reply

