Book 15 — Tired of Trying to Measure Up by Jeff VonVonderen

I believe I grew up in a very grace-filled church and family. I don’t believe my parents were shaming parents at all. Still, when you grow up in the church, sometimes you misunderstand things when you’re sitting in a service trying to make sense of it all. Somewhere along the line, I got some messages that were less than healthy. In Tired of Trying to Measure Up, Jeff VonVonderen addresses some of those messages that are given either intentionally or unintentionally and replaces them with a message of grace and forgiveness. His message is simple. Get to know God, and just let him change you. You don’t have to do anything to change yourself. I love the idea that once we give our lives to God, we aren’t struggling against him anymore, that our old natures and new natures aren’t co-existing but that my old nature is gone forever. I will still make mistakes, but not because I’m an enemy of God. The enemy of God is gone forever, and I don’t need to worry about that anymore. It was such a refreshing look at who I am in Christ. There is a long list of verses to keep mind to replace the old thoughts of shame. I definitely recommend this book for anyone who struggles with shame or who is just tired of feeling like they try so hard to always do the right thing and it is never enough.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

