Book 12 — Five Little Peppers and How They Grew

I just finished reading Five Little Peppers and How They Grew to my daughter for her bedtime reading. We really enjoyed it. It is a story about a widowed mother and her five children, the poverty they face, and how they overcome trials through their love, devotion to each other, and cheerfulness in the face of adversity.

While the book is very old-fashioned, it opened up lots of discussion about things in the book that were unfamiliar to her. While reading about Polly having to sew a button on her shoe, I was able to share a story about my grandmother and button-down shoes. What a wonderful way to pass along some of my family stories!

If I have any complaints about it, it would be that the Pepper children are just too perfect and sweet. We truly enjoyed one chapter where Polly gets very cross because she wants to play the piano and “Mamsie” wants her to finish a chore first. But I think reading about loving and industrious children helps to set a high ideal for my own children to strive for, just as reading about Mamsie’s gentleness and firmness sets a high ideal for myself. The language is a little old-fashioned and “proper,” but I think it’s very good for children to hear that and stretch their minds a little. Megan certainly didn’t seem to have a problem with it.

All in all, an excellent read-aloud to share with your child that will create warm and happy memories.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

