The Well-Educated Mind

So one of the mini-challenges for the 52 books in 52 weeks challenge is to read 3 books from each of the 5 genres as listed in The Well-Educated Mind: fiction, autobiography, history/politics, drama, and poetry. I am going to go ahead and choose three of each category to read throughout the course of the year just so I have something in mind when I’m not sure what to read next:

Fiction:

  • Gulliver’s Travels, because it was next anyway (already read Don Quixote and Pilgrim’s Progress) and I have it on my shelf ready to go.
  • Pride and Prejudice, because it would be after Gulliver’s Travels and will also fit in with the Jane Austen mini-challenge.
  • Oliver Twist, because, well, it’s the next on the fiction list.  And while I know the story well, I’ve never actually read it. <blush>

Autobiography:

  • Walden, even though it’s going out of order, because I’ve always wanted to read it and it’s on my bookshelf.
  • The Autobiography of Benjamin Franklin, because he’s just such an interesting guy.
  • Surprised By Joy by C.S. Lewis

History/Politics (I think I’ll start at the beginning here and read through the history list chronologically, because I don’t have any strong feelings about any of them):

  • The Histories by Herodotus
  • The Peloponnesion War by Thucydides
  • The Republic by Plato

Drama (again, just reading straight through the list in chronological order):

  • Agamemnon by Aeschylus
  • Oedipus the King by Sophocles
  • Medea by Euripides

Poetry:

  • The Epic of Gilgamesh
  • The Iliad and the Odyssey
  • Greek Lyricists

I may read others from the WEM list, but I want to leave plenty of room for other books I may want to read.  Some of these I’m seriously doubting my ability to read in a week, but I’ll do my best!

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under The Plan

Leave a Reply

